All you older folks...

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by MurdocRocks, Feb 28, 2006.

1. MurdocRocks

Jun 18, 2005
    Torrance, CA
    I have a question sort of related to All_Your_Bass's thread.

When you were growing up, were kids in highschool like this too? I'm a junior, and I notice so many of my friends have problems, and a lot just want to quit school. Problems meaning various sorts of problems: bulemia, depression, cutting, attempting suicide, and other things too.

Are all these products of today's media, or have they been around in the past too?
  2. Skeezix

Sep 28, 2005
    Jacksonville, FL
    Let's see...
    I graduated high school in 1978. Knew at least a half dozen people that attempted suicide, two were successful. One friend that managed to get down to 75 lbs. She lived.
    I went to most of my classes, heh-heh. Much drugs in school, more drinking in school. Much sex, much violence, much death and destruction.
    Basically same stuff, better coverage.
  3. Munjibunga

Munjibunga Total Hyper-Elite Member Gold Supporting Member

May 6, 2000
    San Diego (when not at Groom Lake)
    Independent Contractor to Bass San Diego
    We had a few of that type now and then, but it does seem to me that it's much more widespread now. (I graduated in '66.)

This is a different world. In the age of instant worldwide communication, bad news travels fast, and it seems that the news media are more interested in turning a buck by spinning the news than they are in giving us a balanced view of what's going on. There were depressing things back then, too, but it wasn't a steady stream pushed into our faces day after day.