Allen Key

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by harleypriest1, Jul 13, 2020.

1. harleypriest1

harleypriest1

Jul 13, 2020
    Hi, i recently purchased an ibanez SR300EB. I need to change the action of the bass. But i dont know what size allen key i need . I believe the Bridge is called B120. If anyone could help that would be great as im quite new to bass.

2. Snaxster

Snaxster

Nov 29, 2008
    Hello. Woe be unto any Ibanez bass owners who don't have the original user manual. Wow! :)

Here is the info:

http://www.hoshinogakki.co.jp/pdf/ibanez/manual/en/eb/SR_en.pdf

3. Liko

Liko

Mar 30, 2007
    DFW Metro
    Being Ibanez and therefore Asian-made, I would expect all the Allen screws on that bass to be metric size, probably 5-6 mm for the truss rod.

But I wouldn't buy just the one, of course. As a bassist, you are going to want a set of the tools you need to perform a basic setup, which will include full sets of both metric and SAE Allen keys. Don't cheap out; less expensive sets tend to be made of softer steel, which will round off over time and become useless. Personally I recommend these keys from Bondhus. I've had them longer than I've known my wife, and they do the job really well. The extra length really helps for high-torque adjustments like truss rods, and the ball ends help you get to screws mounted in weird spaces.

Other tools you will want to keep handy for basic adjustments and instrument maintenance:
    • Screwdrivers in Philips and flathead, #1 and #2 sizes (I recommend against bit drivers as they often don't fit into recessed screw shafts, but one of these is really handy)
    • A depth gauge for measuring string and pickup heights (engineers' calipers like these are the ideal, but you can buy one of these for less than $5 at most hardware stores and it will do the same job)