Allman Brothers Bassist w/Jazz Bass Using Hootenanny Button

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by OldFenderPlayer, Sep 21, 2019.

1. I'm watching a 1973 video of the Allman Brothers Band, after the unfortunate death of Barry Oakley, with his replacement Lamar Williams, who is playing ... to no surprise ... an early-to-mid 1960s Jazz Bass, and it looks and sounds like he's using a pick. But the surprise is that he's using the bass's "hootenanny" button - that mysterious strap button mounted on the back of the head stock until the late 1960s. Considering how wide the strap is, I'm surprised he could mount it on the button.

I have a gig tonight and the 1967 Precision Bass I'm using has a hootenany button. I've been playing bass for 44 years, and while I've always had an instrument with this button on it, I don't think I've ever used it. I may just bring an extra strap and use it for a song tonight. I'll silently dedicate the song to Lamar Willams, who died in 1983 from cancer.

You can check out the video here:

Attached Files:

Last edited: Sep 21, 2019
  2. ShortyGetLow

ShortyGetLow Inactive

Aug 6, 2019
    I don’t know if I ever knew the headstock strap button had a name.

Great clip!

Winoman, SwitchGear, teh-slb and 4 others like this.
  3. You learn something new every day. To make certain that I bring a guitar strap that's long enough to use with the hootenanny button, I put one on my 1967 Precision Bass. I discovered that the '67's hootenany button is the same thing as the string guide that separates the G and D strings on the front of the head stock. While the hootenanny button and string guide are 22 millimeters wide, the strap buttons are 16 mm wide. But on my '65 Jazz Bass, the hootenanny button is a regular 16 mm strap button. The strap felt securely mounted on the '67's hootennany button, but felt like it was about to slip off of the '65's.

MattZilla, SwitchGear and wesonbass like this.
  4. dmt

dmt

Apr 19, 2003
    Orbiting Sol