1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Along the neck in leaps and bounds...

Discussion in 'Jazz Technique [DB]' started by chicabass, Mar 25, 2006.

1. chicabass

chicabass

Mar 18, 2006
    NOT USA
    Is there any reason why it seems to require more effort to keep intonation perfect moving UP the string even with Simandl-style fingerings yet when moving DOWN in mostly blind leaps, it seems much easier and the proper intonation seems almost automatic?

Is there some theory to this that I haven't worked out yet?

I'm just starting out, but I would have thought that when you're using the correct fingering and you are pretty sure of the distances between your fingers, it would be a lot more 'sure' than moving 'backwards'.
    I'm not even sure if I should be doing it that way *frown*, but I have better accuracy descending...

(I wondered if it would be something to do with it maybe being physically easier to descend but then I thought, no hang on that means you have to lift your arm and stuff, and also you can't really feel out where you're going like when you're ascending? Meh. Does anyone else ever find it harder to stay in tune on the way up than on the way down?)

Or alternatively, does it sound like I'm doing something wrong?

chicabass/K`

2. anonymous0726

anonymous0726 Guest

Nov 4, 2001
    It could be the way your ears work, could be that you're leaving less familiar territory toward more familiar. Could be that you're tensing up when you ascend and play more relaxed when you descend. Hmmm.

--
    Edited tpyo.

3. Gravity? :p Seriously, though, Ray makes some good points.
    I would maybe compare it to bench pressing, when you strain to lift the weight, then relax as you come down.

4. Anon2962

Anon2962

Aug 4, 2004