Alonza Bevan (ex-Kula Shaker)

Discussion in 'Bassists [BG]' started by garp7, May 23, 2003.

1. garp7

May 21, 2003
    Toronto, Canada

I'm a total newbie trying to do enough research before deciding on a bass... one of the questions that a bass friend asked was: What style do you want to play? Which lead me to: Which bassists do I seem to like (or... seem to notice ;))?

Alonza Bevan is probably the first one that constantly comes to my mind. Now... here is the naive question: Does he play a particular style or is it just straight pop with his own individual style? Anyone here who has played some of the Kula Shaker bass lines and can give me some advice?

2. alexclaber

alexclaber Commercial User

Jun 19, 2001
    Brighton, UK
    Director - Barefaced Ltd
    He's a great pop/rock bassist who has a tendancy to head up the neck on the lower strings and plays some nice counter-melodies. I saw Kulu Shaker a few years back and they were awesome live - extremely tight, probably the tightest band I've ever seen, and had a great groove.

3. moley

Sep 5, 2002
    Hampshire, UK
    Kula Shaker didn't last all that long, did they? Shame. "K" was their first album, if I recall? I liked Tattva, and Govinda, the other singles they released at that time, though never bought the album.

As I recall, they released a second, less successful album a couple of years later, and then faded away?
  4. David Wilson

David Wilson Administrator Staff Member Administrator Supporting Member

Oct 14, 2002
    Lower Westchester, NY
    yup, second album divebombed and the lead singer split soon after.

Alonza is a very cool player, nothing complicated but great feel/groove and tasteful playing.

He now plays with Johnny Marr (ex Smiths guitarist) in the healers -
  5. Dr Gonzo

Dr Gonzo

May 23, 2003
    The Netherlands