1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

already searched "refinish", but still have some specific questions

Discussion in 'Setup & Repair [DB]' started by Steve 1100, Oct 3, 2010.

1. Steve 1100

Steve 1100

Sep 5, 2007
    Dallas Texas
    Let me preface this with a short introduction. I have been playing DB for 25 years. I have owned and played all types of basses (solid top, vintage Kays, CCB's, etc). I also have quite a bit of experience painting electric basses & guitars, including some pretty nice nitrocellulose lacquer finishes for some well known players, as well as automotive finish, on a fair number of insturments.

I recently aquired a nice quality imported 3/4 bass, "in the white". I am going to have my luthier do a comprehensive setup on the bass, and I will be doing the finish. I know that I could successfully accomplish a great looking finish using the techniques that I already am familiar with, but I would like to do this bass using the materials and application method that would be appropriate and specific to DB.

Even more specifically, I would like to accomplish a blonde "Swingmaster" type finish. I am hoping that someone who has done a finish like this can read this, and hopefully post pics, and / or post a link to where this subject may have already been covered.

So, if you have finished your blonde bass, and are willing to share your knowledge, post up and let me know about it!

2. Eric Hochberg

Eric Hochberg

Jul 7, 2004
    Chicago
    Look up James Condino here. He can help.

3. james condino

james condino Spruce dork Commercial User

Sep 30, 2007
    asheville, nc