1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Alright, I've bought a bass..

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by home, Apr 7, 2009.

1. home

home

Apr 7, 2009
    Well, after a bit of research I went ahead and purchased a bass today. A Squier Vintage Modified Jazz Bass to be precise. And, well, I'm very pleased with it. From what I can tell (and this isn't much), it appears to be well-made - not to mention, good looking.

Also picked up a el-cheapo Behringer Amp (45 watt) which should get me off the ground.

Anyway, I guess my question is: where do I start?

I've got limited experience with both the Piano and Saxophone, but this is my first guitar, or even stringed-instrument venture.

Unfortunately, I'm not in a position now where I can afford tuition (I'm a full-time student, etc.). However, I'm willing to put in the hard yards and teach myself as much as I can.

What I"m afraid of is, if I teach without guidance, I will most certainly pick up some bad habits, which, may be difficult to break later on.

So, how should I go about this? Are there any grail-like textbooks going around? Online tutorials? Etc.?

I'm at a bit of a loss as to where to start, so I thought I'd ask you guys. In the meantime, I'll have a proper search around this site..

Cheers!

2. Absentia

Absentia

Feb 25, 2009
    Follow the stickies at the top of this forum and the one in the technique forum.
    Lots of information there.
    The site I like the most is Studybass it's really easy to follow.

as for books believe it or not bass guitar for dummies is a great book and pretty much anything published by hal leonard is good.

There's only one book I can say is the holy grail to anything and that's Slap It, it is the holy grail for slap in my eyes.