1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Alternate Tuning

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Jeff Martinez, May 10, 2006.

1. Jeff Martinez

Jeff Martinez

May 10, 2005
    Denver, CO
    I've been using this tuning for about 12 years: A-D-A-D-A on my 5-er, D-A-D-A on my 4-string. I absolutely love the chords available to me. I've yet to meet another bassist who tunes the same. I'm just curious if anyone here uses this at all.

2. fod

fod

Nov 18, 2005
    Louisivlle Kentucky
    I have never even heard of the tuning before. Hmmm I will have to try that. what kind of music do you play?

3. Jeff Martinez

Jeff Martinez

May 10, 2005
    Denver, CO
    I actually discovered this tuning just being wierd. The band I was in used drop-D, so I tuned the G up a whole step as well, (just to be a smart-a**), and was pleasantly surprised with the results.

I'm currently in a "melodic-metal" band (www.borninwinter.com). I'm also working on a solo CD that should be available by October (I'll have samples up on MySpace as soon as I have time to put a page together)

4. i play AEADG!!!! wooo abother drop Aer!
    i play in a hardcore metal band - www.myspace.com/sintuition

i love the open A chugs availible on the 5 string, so low and powerful!

What Cab do you play through as i need advice on what to get as my Cab?? also what head do you use?

5. Jeff Martinez

Jeff Martinez

May 10, 2005
    Denver, CO

Sweet!!! I'll check your stuff out when I get home from work (damn corporate firewall won't let me onto MySpace :mad: )

"A" works great with my band, since our guitarist plays in drop-D for most songs (drop-C on one song) and also has a baritone guitar in A. I love having 5 octaves of A at my fingertips.