Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Alternatives to Rotosound flats

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by BassyBill, Jan 31, 2006.

1. BassyBill

BassyBill The smooth moderator... Staff Member Gold Supporting Member

Mar 12, 2005
    West Midlands UK
    I've done a search, but thought I'd post a new thread as what I'm after is pretty specific.

I'm just beginning to enjoy flats (last couple of months) after years of playing exclusively on rounds. I put some Roto flats on one of my Jazz basses and they're great except for one thing - the E string is a bit "weaker" than I like, doesn't have that real bottom end thump as strong as I would want it. This wasn't the case with rounds on the same bass, the E string was great, one of the main reasons I like the bass so much.

Anybody else have similar experience with Rotosound flats? Anybody got any recommendations for similar strings that may give me a real strong E string again?

Thanks
    Bill

2. bassmonkeee

bassmonkeee Supporting Member

Sep 13, 2000
    Decatur, GA
    I've used Rotosound flats on multiple basses at different times and currently have a set on one of my Bongos. I've never once experienced an E string that was significantly softer or quieter than the other strings. Methinks you have a dead string. I would see about getting a replacement string.

3. BassyBill

Mar 12, 2005
    West Midlands UK
    Good call! You know, stupid as it sounds the thought of this being a faulty string never even entered my head until I read your post. I've never had one before from Rotosound (or anyone else for that matter), I'll mail them and see what they say. I kind of hope that's what it is as I really like everything else about these strings.

Thanks for pointing out what maybe should have seemed obvious. :D

(smacks forehead)

4. 7flat5

7flat5

Nov 28, 2003
    Upstate NY