Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Alternatives to TI Flats

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by 44me, Mar 21, 2005.

1. 44me

44me

Jun 17, 2002
    Bedford, NH USA
    I’ve been using TI flats on my Fender P for about 3 years, and for the most part I’ve been pretty happy with them. Their low tension has always been a love/hate thing (left hand loves ‘em, right hand hates ‘em). Tone has been very good but not what you would call a traditional flatwound sound. Lately, I’ve been playing a lot of 60’s - 70’s soul/R&B, and have been trying to get more of that traditional sound, which the TI’s don’t quite seem to be able to deliver. Plus, I’ve found the low tension to be a bit of a hindrance to getting a good feel on funkier tunes.

So, I’ve searched the archives and am thinking that the GHS Precision Flats (45-105) might be worth a shot. I’d like to not go any heavier than 45-105 to avoid having to open up the nut slots, particularly since there’s a good chance I could end up back with the skinny TI’s. However, I’m wondering if the sound I’m looking for just requires a heavier string, particularly for the G. In the past I’ve tried Chromes on this bass, which I found to be very uneven sounding (great thud on the E, but after nearly a year the G just wouldn’t mellow out). I’ve also tried GHS Bright Flats, but hated everything about them, as they seemed to be more of a worst of both worlds rather than best of.

Has anyone tried both the 55-105’s and 45-105 Precision Flats? Do the heavier strings help to get a thick, dark tone? Is there something else I should be considering instead?

Thanks,
    John

2. michele

michele Supporting Member

Apr 2, 2004
    Italy