Am I being a sucker?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Matthew West, May 2, 2001.

1. Around the middle of February, I started playing with a second band. They were without a bass player (their old one left), and I offered to help them out with shows while they look for a new one. They still have not found a new bass player, and I don't think they're looking too hard. Thing is, they seem to be starting to view me as a regular member.

Now as far as I am concerned, this is not my band. I don't make decisions, I play what I am asked, and while I'm pretty free to mess with the parts, I don't contribute with any songwriting. I go to practice every week, so forth and so on.

Here is my question: I have played two shows with them so far, and have another on May 17. The first show I know they got paid around $180, and the second one probably between $50 and $100. Neither time did they offer to give me my cut of the money, and instead used it to pay rent on their practice space or fund the album which they are recording, and which they have asked me to do the bass parts for. Should I be expecting 25% of all money from playing out? I haven't asked for any, but they haven't offered either. I don't want to be an ass, but I kind of feel like I am being taken advantage of.
  2. BaroqueBass

Jul 8, 2000
    Salem, OR
    you's a sucka foo!! either get your $$ or get the hell outta there. Don't jibba jabba wit dem geeta playaz.
  3. Have you tried discussing it with them? What were the details of your agreement to play with them?

I think if the band is getting paid, you should be getting paid too, but I'm not in the situation, so I don't really know.

4. Acacia

Apr 26, 2000
    Austin, TX
    to me the number one question is are you enjoying it?

if you know that the money is going towards practice space rent and funding a new album that you're gonna be on, then I would go with the flow.

i mean, are you really losing anything?