1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Am I being unreasonable?

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by pedro, Aug 15, 2012.

1. pedro

pedro

Apr 5, 2000
    Madison, WI.
    So it appears that my little soul/r&b band that I've been nursing along for a few years is coming to an end. The guitarist/vocalist and our female singer are leaving to go with another bass player and drummer. The guitarist asked me if I minded if he took the name with him. The name is a kind of variation on a name he has been gigging with since the 70's. My response was that I didn't really mind as long as -

1. He made it clear that it was NOT the same band

and

2. He waited 'till we finished playing our last gig (October 26).

Apparently his new band has some gigs lined up and that some what causes a problem. I don't want to be unreasonable but I've worked mighty hard on this band and it's attained a certain small success.

Thoughts? Opinions?

2. Took "the name with him"? I assume you're talking about the band's name and not his own stage name? Did you make up the band's name? If so, why shoiuld he take your band's name with him? Sounds like a jerk move on his part (the action of booking gigs before your band is through) but it may not be worth fighting over unless you have decided to find a new lineup and keep the band name.

3. pedro

pedro

Apr 5, 2000
    Madison, WI.
    Yes the band name. It was a name that was decided on when the band formed and is a play on words so to speak on our guitarist old band name from the 70's. I never much liked the name so I'm ok with him using it but just think he should wait until we are actually done.

4. BelleNoireBass

BelleNoireBass

Apr 18, 2012
    Bay Area