1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

am i damaging/risking my combo?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by thehangingmist, Feb 25, 2008.

1. i have a small hartke combo amp (it doesn't claim to have a limiter on board but i do have a limiter on my pedal board anyway)
    so now the thing is its a 30W combo amp and i play it on its FULL master volume (there is only one volume knob).
    can playing that amp out on its peak output damage anything inside it? am i risking it if yes then what is most likely to be blown out first? the speaker?

2. by the way i play it through a (1)passive squier jazz bass into a (2)boss GEB-7 eq into a (3)behringer bass limiter/enhancer then to the amp

3. Well, when I started playing, I used to use a small 20w combo and when I jammed with other people, I had to literaly crank every knob. It didin't blow, but, if you do this it is like playing with fire, an amp is not designed to be ran full on, with the volume on ten, If you do do, all the electronics are pushed to their limits, and they overheat. So your amp MIGHT not blow up, but it is very likely that if you do that for a long time (or not if your out of luck) it'll blow up one day.

4. jdbernard

jdbernard

May 29, 2007
    I'm not an expert, but I would assume that the maker of the combo would design the circuitry so that it could withstand maximum load without being damaged. The only thing I personally would worry about is the speaker blowing.

I guess if you plugged in a really hot signal you may fry it on full, but you're not putting that much signal out with your passive bass.

5. any more thoughts?

6. uprightben

uprightben

Nov 3, 2006
    Boone, NC