Am I nuts? Thinking about swapping Ray for a Fender

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by tplyons, Feb 25, 2005.

1. tplyons

Apr 6, 2003
    Madison, NJ
    I've been playing a Y2K Stingray pretty much exclusively for two years, and with a GK stack it was great for metal, but is a bit too shrill for my tastes, starting to mellow out a little, and the thing is heavy (I'm recovering from abdominal surgery) so I'm looking about going back to something more basic.

I love Precision basses, and I was actually planning on buying a '77 Precision for $699 (remember way back when) instead of my Stingray for that price. But the store sold *MY* Precision the day before I arrived to buy it, and walked with the Ray instead. I was pleased, it was better for me then, but my tastes have changed.

I'm tossing around the possibilities of swapping the Ray for a late 70's Precision (of course I'd need cash involved, my Ray is no prize pig ... it was a player, chipped here and there, dirty, etc) or maybe a Roscoe Beck V...

The RBV is appealing to me for that Fender vibe, plus the low B string, seems to be more ergonomic and comfortable with the asymmetrical neck with a huge variety of tones, while still being passive.

I love my Ray, but it's not making me passionate to play anymore (plus I have to get up and move to play bass since I moved my gear to my basement "studio") so I'm thinking about jazzing up the rig and going more vintagey.

What do you think?
  2. keep the ray and get an Precision of a Jazz :bassist:
  3. tplyons

Apr 6, 2003
    Madison, NJ
    My thinking is this: the Ray is replacable (and I like the newer models better, and rosewood) so eventually if I were going to replace it, I would get a newer model with a rosewood board.