am i the youngest bassist here?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by robe, Jan 3, 2004.

1. robe

Oct 19, 2003
    Hi everybody,

I had been wanting to get a bass for about 4 months and i finally got one.I have been playing acoustic for about 3 months and i am getting relly good. But i just wanted to get that bass tone and the bottom end that you cant get with an acoustic guitar.

I picked up a yamaha rbx460 that had a few tiny tiny dings on th body + 2 straps, Big rectangular hard case and a lead all for $170 on ebay( ozzy dollars)

Does anyone know if this model is better than the rbx 170?

Finally i am 13 years old and was just wondering wat i should start to learn as a beginer?

And is there n e one else in this forum around the same age as me?
  2. seungkoo

seungkoo Banned

Nov 20, 2003
    i started playin since i was 10...i took up bari sax as a 7 ytear old in my elementry jazz band then i started to love the low deep notes and took up the double bass and bass guitar
  3. Tim Cole

Tim Cole

Jun 12, 2002
    Findlay, Ohio
    No, but you have the best spelling.

I started when I was 10, and am 29 now.
  4. RAM

May 10, 2000
    Chicago, IL
    I started at 13. Never too young or too old.
  5. I'm 16... if that counts for anything?

I've been playing since I was 15 so I have zero seniority over the local elderly's. ;)
  6. nonsqtr

nonsqtr The emperor has no clothes!

Aug 29, 2003
    Burbank CA USA
    "What should I start to learn as a beginner?"

Definitely blues and classic rock. Even if you don't like them. Blues is pretty much the basics of everything. If you can play blues well enough to support a band, that's your first major milestone to becoming a virtuoso.

How to do that? Listen and play along to the radio and as many records/CD's as possible. BUT, don't grow up to depend on it. Go to a lot of jam sessions, and play out as much as possible, with as many different musicians as possible (with varying levels of skill).