1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Amateur orchestras and the 'C' extension

Discussion in 'Orchestral Technique [DB]' started by the exile, Nov 25, 2017.

1. the exile

the exile

Feb 17, 2017
    I am a composer and I just wanted to ask if it is usual for amateur orchestral double bass players to have the 'C' extension available.

Cheers,
    Jan

Last edited: Nov 25, 2017
  2. CSBBass

CSBBass

Sep 21, 2013
    In my experience C-extensions are a rarity outside of professional orchestras. Even in most colleges/conservatories, though certainly more common there than in community orchestras, the majority of players I've seen are playing a 4 string with no extension.

the exile likes this.
  3. Reiska

Reiska Supporting Member

Jan 27, 2014
    Helsinki, Finland
    I quess that one option could be to get one of the basses strung CADG instead of EADG?

the exile likes this.
  4. s van order

s van order

Oct 4, 2012
    Delaware
    One idea is that if the piece allows it, the basses can drop tune and then very quickly and quietly tune back up to open E while resting, placing the ear against the neck. Years back, in my community orchestra, with basses with no extensions, we tuned to low open D for the opening of the Firebird Suite, then retuned during the three measure rest, and it worked out.

the exile and Mrlen613 like this.
  5. Mrlen613

Mrlen613

Jul 19, 2008
    Clinton,NJ
    I just saw Gary Karr play and I'm pretty sure he drop-tuned as mentioned above. I was amazed at how quick he retuned during the performance.

the exile likes this.
  6. Lee Moses

Lee Moses

Apr 2, 2013
    Tennessee
    No, very few bassists in amateur/community orchestras have C-extensions. Of course, much of the repertoire they play has notes below E, but the most common way they'll address this is by simply playing those notes an octave up.