Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

American Industry

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by esvsteamship, Feb 1, 2004.

1. I believe I have thouroughly scoured the threads, but since I am a newbie, I might have missed something. However......

Other than Engelhardt and the New Standard, are there any other American-made basses that I can buy new that aren't craptastic? I am an avid industrialist, and feel that if I can, I should buy American when possible (which isn't very often.) I'm interested in about 2K, maybe 2500 after setup. I play chamber music, and would like to foray into ragtime. But, I'm tiny, only 4' 10" with tiny, tiny hands, and need a 1/4 size.

Also, I haven't had a bass in four years, so I have nothing to currently compare a bass to. This might be to my advantage. My last bass was my parents' choice..... I have an idea of what I would like it to sound like this time. I'd like a good tone, it needn't be loud.

Beth

2. FidgetStone

FidgetStone

Jun 30, 2002
    Allen, TX
    I'm not the most knowledgeable person on this forum but I think besides the two companies that you mention, all of the American made basses are custom made by luthiers in different parts of the country.

Robertsons in Albuqurque makes some beautiful basses, or gets them from highly skilled luthiers. There are luthiers that are on TB on a regular basis that make beautiful instruments. Nothing custom is going to be in the $2500 range though.

Good Luck . . .

3. Thanks, Fidget.... I'm hoping I run into something I really like....I just wish it were an American product, the patriotic thing to do and all.

4. Chasarms

Chasarms Casual Observer

May 24, 2001
    Bettendorf, IA USA
    If you are set on buying American your options are very limited, But I would at least suggest that you give Engelhardt a good look.