Amp advice for oldies rock and roll

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by spacerust, Oct 9, 2011.

1. spacerust

spacerust

Feb 9, 2010
    South Texas
    I just started playing bass again in an oldies covers band. Doing the 50's 60's thing. I picked up an Epiphone Ravoli bass reissue? so it's got that boom. Im thinking of getting a head and maybe a 15 cab and possibly 212 in case I need it. But not sure whay to look for. I should not have sold my aguilar sc500 and gs212 but I was playing guitar and didnt like to see it sitting there. So now I learned, dont get rid of good equipment. So any thoughts? Price range I was figuring about 400-500 for the head unless you know a good combo or setup I could try.

2. Marton

Marton

Sep 20, 2005
    Quebec
    Epiphone Ravioli ? :smug:

3. Mystic Michael

Mystic Michael Hip No Ties

Apr 1, 2004
    New York, NY
    Prepare to see "Ampeg" mentioned again and again. Or "Fender Bassman" again and again.

And if so, they may be right. Old school isn't really my thing, so I defer.

However if it were me, I'd think outside of the box a bit. Get a Hartke LH1000 + an Aguilar DB 115 (or two :eek:).

Add a P Bass with flats. That'll roust those senior rockers on a Saturday night... :smug:

MM

4. soulman969

soulman969 Inactive

Oct 6, 2011
    Englewood, Colorado
    Personally I love Ampeg Heads so my advice would be an SVT Pro III. As for what to run it through I guess that depends on what your looking for sound wise. You say the bass is boomy which if it's anything like those old EBO's I know what you mean. If that's the case I steer clear of 15"'s and get a 2x12" cabinet. Another option for the head would be a GK MB500 again with a 2x12" cabinet. Those would be my top choices.

5. spacerust

spacerust

Feb 9, 2010
    South Texas