1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Amp and cab power rating

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by hrasty, Mar 26, 2013.

1. hrasty

hrasty

Feb 21, 2012
    Hey.
    I'm looking at some amp heads and cabs and since I'm pretty new to this (I have been using combos) I am slightly confused about the power ratings.
    I have figured out the Impedance issues and I have some questions about power.
    Let say the head is rated at 600w@4ohm (TraceElliot AH600). Do I have to use a cab rated at 600w or can I use, let's say a 400W or 800W (all @4ohm)?

2. You can use any cab with any amp IF you listen to the driver for fart out and turn down accordingly. I have repeatedly run my SVT 4 Pro (1400 watts bridged) into a single 15" or my fridge (8-10") the amp could blow them both simultaneously (I never run them together) but I am always right in front of the cab listening to it and paying attention to the sound it is making. If you use common sense and have the right cab for your job then you should have no problems.

If on the other hand you listen like my next door neighbor the pro DJ... He just turns his system up till it hurts and can't understand why he is over at my house asking what went wrong with his brand new self powered speakers on sticks (no subs) that keep blowing (three times till the retailer told him NO MORE...). He was used to a pair of Pyramid 2-15" cabs with piezo tweeters and his new downsized single 15's could not keep up.