1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Amp & Cab Compatible?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Kyyyle, Oct 25, 2018.

1. Kyyyle

Kyyyle

Oct 25, 2018
    Hey everyone,

I'm new to this, so please go easy on what may be a dumb question.

Could I use a Hartke LH500 amp head (500 watts at 4 ohms) with a Hartke 4x10 Transporter cab (300 watts at 8 ohms). I'm still figuring out watts and ohms and amps and how it applies to speakers.

Thanks!!!

2. el murdoque

el murdoque

Mar 10, 2013
    Germany
    Yes, you can.

In a Nutshell: When you have a solid state amplifier, the Ohms rating on the amplifier specifies the minimum load.
    You must not connect cabinets with a total load of less than that. The amp will do the rest.
    When you couple an 8 ohm cab with a 500W@4 ohm amp, you will get roughly 250-300W from the amp because it's not running at its limit.

Add another 8 ohms cab later and the total load goes down to 4 ohms and you get full power.
    Add another 4 ohms cab later and the load drops to 2,67 ohms and you'll harm your amp.

Eric DK and saabfender like this.
  3. Raf Seibert

Raf Seibert

Dec 16, 2013
    Texas
    Read the sticky. However, you should be fine. Just keep your ear peeled for sounds of distress from the speaker. Basically, you just don’t want to turn it up all the way.

interp and Old Garage-Bander like this.
  4. The power (watts) rating for an amp is what the amp can produce given the load (speakers).
    Example: Amp is rated for 350 watts with an 8 Ohm load and 500 watts with a 4 Ohm load.
    Also the minimum Impedance (Ohms) rating of an amp means do not go below this number.
    Example: If your amp has a minimum rating of 8 Ohms, do not use a 4 Ohm cabinet or any combination of cabinets that equal less than 8 Ohms.