Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

amp/cab/effects simulations

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by Malus, Mar 2, 2005.

1. Malus

Malus

Feb 20, 2005
    San Antonio Texas
    I am a new bassist - was a keyboardist/trumpet player in the '80s and am pursuing this new instrument as my primary with zeal - getting back into music after a long hiatus.

That being said, I want to experiment with different sounds without having to mortgage the house. I stumbled upon the Behringer Bass V-amp - which provides 125 preset amp/cab/effects - and you can program it yourself and save your own creations in any of the preset slots.

The thing that intrigues me about this is the ability to make your lowly practice amp sound truely awesome. I first heard the guitar version of the V-amp played through a 30 watt practice amp that sounded like a tube amplifier at my buddy's house. From my days programming sythesizers and tweaking the right sound - this is very appealing to me - I don't have the money to buy 10 amps to find the right one - and one sound isn't always right for a large range of music.

I guess I really have two questions:

1. Are there other manufacturers who have taken this integrated approach?

2. As experienced bassists what are your thoughts on amp simulations, and cab simulations? (what are the pros and cons of using this approach?) How much of the bass world is tied to tradition, and how much is interested in trying new things?

Thanks for any advise you can spare for me. :bassist: :help: