Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Amp Cluebag

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by ZuluFunk, Jul 14, 2001.

1. ZuluFunk

ZuluFunk

Apr 14, 2001
    Pennsylvania
    I don't usually read the Amp stuff here. I couldn't find a thread though I'm sure one's out there. This type of question comes up from newbys all the time under Basses..."What should I buy?".

I've been playing since 1981 but I know squat about amps. I've never needed anything for semi-serious gigging...until now. I always would have a decent combo for playing in my room. I had a Peavey, Crate, and now a Hartke Kickback 12". I got them for the convenience. I usually just played at home anyway. Whenever I played out, it was often on a house rig.

Now I need to get a rig to fill medium sized rooms (bars & small clubs). I have an Ampeg that a buddy said he will loan me when I need it until I get something. I haven't tried it yet. I also use the rig at the studio which has 2 Hartke 4-by cabs and an SWR? head. The question is what to get and how much to pay.

What's a good source for learning about what to consider for specifications (watts, ohms, blah blah blah)?

Are there good combos out there that I can use and still get a big variable sound? I tried an Ampeg digital cube and one tube job. Problem is, they may sound great in the shop, but I don't know how they'll sound when I'm trying to play over drums, guitar, singer and horn section on a gig.

Thanks for your patience.

2. ZuluFunk

ZuluFunk

Apr 14, 2001
    Pennsylvania
    For example, what do these terms mean and what do I need to know about them in terms of utility?

Input Impedance: 1M Ohm
    Nominal Input Level: -20dBm
    Optimal Output Load: 4 Ohms
    Power Output: 600 watts RMS @ 4 Ohms (minimum load),
    400 watts RMS @ 8 Ohms
    Maximum Power Consumption: approx. 1KVA Forced-air cooled