Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Amp for church AND club gigs?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by BertBert, Nov 1, 2003.

1. BertBert

BertBert

Nov 9, 2002
    Indianapolis
    I've been playing through a 100W Crate 1x15 combo for a few years, and I am looking to upgrade. (The Crate is OK, but just not enough power or sonic clarity for what I am needing these days.) I'm looking for either a higher-end combo or a cabinet system that will work in two somewhat different situations:

1. A church worship band where I am onstage with piano, 1-2 guitars, drums, and 5-6 vocalists and running through a fairly massive house PA; and

2. Gigs with a 3-piece rock/funk/blues band that plays coffeehouses, church gatherings, parties, outdoor festivals, etc.

I've been reading the thread on church band setups elsewhere on the forums, and most people there are happy with a 300-400W head and a 4x10 or even just a 2x10. But I wonder if that would be enough for the gigs with my 3-piece band. A 300-500W head with a 4x10 and a 1x15 would be great, but obviously a greater expense than just the head + 4x10's. Any thoughts on what kind of setup would serve both purposes well?

2. BassGuy

BassGuy

Jun 30, 2000
    I play in church, too, with a full band including acoustic drums. We don't use a PA for the instruments, only the singers (teen choir).

I use a Peavey Basic-112 with a Tech 21 Bass DI. Since you use a PA, I would suggest using the DI (this one's great!) to go to the PA and using your amp or a smaller one as a stage amp. This DI has lots of tone settings for modeling. It will free you from schlepping a monster rig back and forth.

Good luck.

Guy