1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Amp fuse experts!! S4A or T4A ???

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by sucho2000, Apr 28, 2010.

1. sucho2000

sucho2000

Nov 19, 2009
    Hi,

I have got Markbass LMII
    and using it in Australia... 240V 50HZ

Its manual says I need use T4A 250V fuse (Slow-Blow?)

So I went to electronic shop and asked for Slow-blow 4A fuse
    and this guy gave me "S4A"...

I am using the S4A fuse at the moment with no problem
    But, is it OK to use this instead of T4A ???

I am complete noob on these kinda issues, So :help:

cheer

sucho

2. sucho2000

sucho2000

Nov 19, 2009
    Anyone? Noone??

3. I'll have an answer in a few minutes - I posted it on a NZ site.

4. Got it-

5. sucho2000

sucho2000

Nov 19, 2009
    Umm... So....

Can I use it? :bag:

Mine doesn't seem to have a motor in it,, lol

6. Yeah - it's the purpose for which they are made that make them unique.

Slo-Blow is the mystery value and it's what you amp-maker wanted. I say if it fits, has the same specs as to total amps allowed, and it;s the same shape-size and connex, then go for it.

I also found out that the "T" style MIGHT be German in original design. Could be wrong with that country of origin assessment though. -

But if at the amps for the one which it replaces and if it's so-spec'd and if it fits, use it.

7. sucho2000

sucho2000

Nov 19, 2009
    Thanks Surfer Joe!!! :bassist:

8. No, you probably can't use it. Electrically, they are the same but physically,
    the form factors are different. The Edison base is a generic fuse base
    that looks like the bottom of a light bulb. The rejection base looks
    similar but has different threads to prevent the wrong value of fuse
    from being screwed in.

s_and_edison_noted.

http://homerepair.about.com/od/electricalrepair/ss/fuse_types_2.htm