1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Amp help

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by The Rossness, May 9, 2010.

1. The Rossness

The Rossness

May 6, 2010
    I'm kind of lost. I'm a guitarist who's switching over to bass and need an amp, but I know very little about bass amps. I need some help and recommendations for an amp. I want something I can learn and practice on, but at the same time, I want something that's gig worthy. I don't want one amp for practice and another for shows. My budget is about $700. I don't care if its a head/ cab or a combo.

Do tubes make a difference in a bass rig? Also, How many watts should I got for?

I play everything from The Beach Boys to Iron Maiden and some fusion now and again.

I tried out the Acoustic amps at GC and they did nothing for me. The Carvin amps don't seem to get good reviews. I have a chance to get a Markbass F1 in my area for 500 bones, but don't think I can get a good cab for $200. Bugera's and their prices are tempting, but I know their electric guitar amps fall apart, so I'm not sure if I should take a chance on them. I played some ampeg stuff too. I liked it a lot, but couldn't afford their prices.

I looked the the Tech 21 Landmark 300 and it seems amazing, but it cost too much. Anyone have a used one they want to sell me? ;)

I know it's a broad question, but I could use some help as I don't know what direction to go in. I could use some amp recommendations- Thanks in advance.

...BTW, I'm going to be using a Fender Geddy Lee Jazz Bass.

2. rovito

rovito

Jun 26, 2005
    Maine
    GK MB212 or MB210

3. raymondl3

raymondl3

Dec 10, 2007
    USA