1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Amp Info Overload.

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Wrilley, Jan 14, 2012.

1. Wrilley

Wrilley

Jan 2, 2012
    Detroit, MI USA
    Hi TBers,

I've probably thought my self into a corner here, but after
    looking through a million threads here about amps, I've
    decided I have no clue what I need. So this is a lifeline
    request for a reality check. BTW, I'm a total newbie to
    bass, I've been playing for less than a month.

I'm looking for something for practice, including being able
    to take it to a class , or to a friend's place to jam (thus not
    a headphone amp), so it needs to be portable. Really really
    portable as I live in a third floor walk-up. :crying:

That said, I'm using a friend's Fender Rumble 15 and really
    don't like it. I have a five string, and the B makes me fear
    for its life. I think I need one of the amps that is sort of
    a "hybrid" practice/small gig type amp.

I thought I'd decided on a GK mb115 but the second one
    I played on was very bland, the first one had a great rumbly
    sound that I loved. I don't know if that's normal, but it
    made me rethink the GK.

I don't have a particular preference between combo vs
    head/cab.

My musical taste is very eclectic so versatility is a plus
    but I don't plan to add an EUB if that matters. Tonally
    I like a bit of growl, but I'd be happy to have a transparent
    amp if I could add it with a pedal or something.

Price is a function of time, cheaper means I can get it
    sooner, but I'm happy to save longer if it's the right thing
    to do. Except if it goes over $1k my wife will give me
    The Look :scowl:. She's Irish AND a teacher so The Look :scowl: is
    something to be feared.