1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Amp or Guitar

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by test dude, Dec 25, 2006.

1. test dude

test dude

Nov 13, 2006
    Long Island NY
    OK, well Ive been PLaying bass guitar for a couple of years now. I started with the Pbass and a 15 watt amp. Then I moved to A 100 watt frontman and I bought a Esp Ltd 254 Viper Bass. Now Im looking to upgrade again. My problem is Money, which is mostly everone's unless you are very succesful and rich. I play about every weekend with my friend who plays guitar on a Peavy amp which is huge and like 400 watts with a XLL head, or something like that. And our drummer has one of those exspensive electronic drumsets but he just bought a huge PA system for it i have not seen yet. So im still stuck here with my gear looking to upgrade. My friend the guitarist wants me to buy a 5 string which i would like to get, but I would also like to get a larger more wattage better sounding amp. I was moving towards the 500 watt range which i think would be all i need for a long time if i wanted to play some gigs if we were to get a singer which is still in the works. Now he's always saying get the bass but I know the Low B string On A 5 string bass sounds different on each amp and its quality. Now I was thinking to go with an Ampeg 4x10 HLF with a 450 watt head and right now my budget is around 1000 which is harsh for me.Or should i find a cheaper set up thats around 450-500 watts that will be good for some small indoor stage playing and buy a cheap 5 string. Im not sure what to do. Im leaning towards the Amp but im not sure If i should get the 5 string plus its only used in a couple of other bands songs we play.This will most likely be one of my last purchases unless we hit it big and start making money from it, so i would really like the amp because it will prodce the sound i need and would j