1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Amp, PreAmp, DI?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Jacer, Dec 26, 2019.

Tags:
  1. Jacer

Jacer

Dec 26, 2019
    So I’ve been playing bass since 4 years ago and until today I’d not been interested in these topics. But now I want to buy something that make my sound tastier.

But in my way to get some information about this topic I found a lot of options and some terms I’m not familiar with.

So, making it simple, I want to know what does an amp, pre amp and DI are? What do they do to your sound? And in wich cases you will need them?

¡Thanks a lot for your help!.

2. An amp is anything that makes the signal bigger.

In terms of bass amps there is the preamp and the power amp in one box. It may have a DI as well.

The preamp takes your instrument signal and makes it bigger.
    Power amp takes the signal from the preamp and turns it into speaker level signal.

A DI sends a signal for front of house mixer or recording. It can do that without picking up interference for 100m. These days a lot of amps have a good one built in.

dbbltime likes this.
  3. Yummy Notes

Yummy Notes

Dec 20, 2019
    Sound Tasty?...this feels like a nice thread for a first attempt from me.

I have been lurking on TB for a while, just learning new things.

A preamp raises the bass signal to line, and the amplifier then amplifies the signal for dispersion via the speakers.

I believe the DI only converts the unbalanced signal from the bass to a balanced signal, so it may be plugged into a mixer board or other device at mic level. (The mixer would then raise the signal from mic to line and send to PA system).

The bass head, which includes the preamp and amplifier, is the portion that would impart the character, i.e., your sound.

Warning: the rabbit hole can get deep... type of preamp, type of amplifier, cabinets, etc.