Amp Question for 5-stringers...

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Thumpinthenight, Jan 6, 2005.

1. Thumpinthenight

Apr 13, 2004
    New York
    Ok, What determins if an amp can handle the lo-B frequencies of a 5-string? Is it the power head wattage? The Amp design itself? The speaker wattage and/or frequency range??
    I have an older Peavy TNT 160 watt bass AMP I use for practise, and the clip light keeps on flashing, and it sounds distorted even when at lo to med volumes. If I upgrade the 15" speaker will it help? (The TNT is fine with a 4-string).
    I'm kinda new at the 5-string (which is an active Jazz). This bass does sound ok with my full setup Carvin/svp-pro / Hartke cabs. :confused:
  2. It's mostly the Speaker frequency range and how the cab was tuned. But there may be other factors as well. ie. input gain, wattage.
  3. nonsqtr

nonsqtr The emperor has no clothes!

Aug 29, 2003
    Burbank CA USA
    At 160 watts, are you turning the amp up pretty loud when you play? My guess is "probably", that's not a whole lot of power for bass. Especially for the low B, the lower frequencies suck more juice out of the power supply and generally make the amp work harder. I don't think that just replacing the speaker is going to do the trick for you. While the speaker may be "contributing" to the distortion, chances are that most of what you're hearing is coming from the amp.