Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Amp Question

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by JP Bassman, Jun 25, 2001.

1. JP Bassman

JP Bassman

Jun 18, 2001
    Jersey/DC
    Hi guys
    I actually registered a week or two ago, but I haven't had the chance to drop by since then and now I have a question.

It's a simple question really...

I started playing bass at Christmas, and I love it! I have a Marshall 25watt Combo amp, and my firends and I are starting a band. Obviously I need a bigger setup, (although not too big) and I heard that you can use the Combo as a head. This is great for me, especially becasue I don't have the money for a head AND cabs.

What's the best thing for me to do - combo or just go buy the head?

Also, how exactly do I do this - use the combo as a head?

OK, now the numbers on the back of it are 120V~8 ohms 60 Watts, and then on the other side is 25W at 8 ohms.

Thanks guys.

2. rickbass

rickbass Supporting Member

Just my opinion, but I think the best thing you can do is save up for a bigger used rig, (or steal one), especially if you're going into an 8 ohm load and only getting 25W. Your amp sounds like a guitar amp to me.

If there is a jack on the back of the head that says something like "EXT" you can use another speaker cab with it. However, more speakers doesn't mean more volume, especially if they're out of phase.

3. Chasarms

Chasarms Casual Observer

May 24, 2001
    Bettendorf, IA USA
    You can use a combo for a head, but I am not so sure you are going to get any where with what you have. the 120V 60 watts thing is simply the amount of electricity the power supply consumes.

The real meat of your problem is the 25 watts at eight ohms. That is not that much power.