1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Amp questions (out of the loop for, like 30 years)

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by KrazyDawg, Jul 3, 2014.

1. KrazyDawg

KrazyDawg

Jun 17, 2014
    Hi all,

First post, but I've been perusing a lot of the forums here for a while now. Background: I played bass (a lot) 30 years ago but then life happened and I haven't touched one since. I started playing six-string guitar (again) about 7 years ago, just for fun. I recently got a bit of a bug to play bass again, but have been hesitant to spend any amount of money as I don't want to invest much until I know it's something I'm going to stick with. After going to GC and playing a few of their Jazz basses, I had seemingly forgotten how much of a stretch the full length basses were (compared to playing guitar). While perusing the Bay, I came across a short-scale Squire bass that they were pretty much giving away and decided to pull the trigger. I got the guitar today, took a little time to set it up and then I plugged it into my guitar amp (Carvin X212b). The Squire bass sounds surprisingly good on the A, D and G strings, but man, does the E string ever sound muddy (i.e. lack of crispness). In addition, when I thumb slap it, I get undesirable popping sounds that I don't get on the other strings. I've switched between the bridge and neck pups, as well as maxing/minimizing the tone knob with no change in muddiness (for the most part). I'm assuming the muddy E string/popping sounds is because I'm playing it through a guitar amp which likely isn't designed to process sounds this low.

Basically, I'm just looking for some confirmation that I'll need to get a bass-specific amp in order to get a consistent sound from top to bottom. Thanks for any responses - this is a great site!

**Just realized my question should probably have been posted in the amp section - my apologies!