Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Amp questions!

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by StingrayKid21, May 17, 2002.

1. StingrayKid21

StingrayKid21 Holding down the low-end since 1996.

Oct 7, 2001
    Portland, OR
    Hey gang, this will be a long post but it consists of two questions.

1) I bought a new amp setup yesterday at guitar center. I got an Ampeg SVT-350 Head and a SVT410HLF cab. I like the sound of both but I am worried I might "grow out" of the amp head quickly if I join a band. I mean if I need to maybe add a 1x15 cab then my power would drop from 350w to 200w because that is the amp's output at 8ohms. So my question is.. should I maybe upgrade to a different amp? I am looking at the SVT4-Pro since that has a lot more power. I still have like 28 days to trade in the SVT-350, and I am new to the world of separate amps and cabs. Any advice or opinions are welcome because I don't want to get in a band and realize this amp won't cut it.

2) (this might not have to do with amps, but I'm not sure) If anyone has heard the album "A Flight and a Crash" by Hot Water Music, do you know how Jason Black gets that really crunchy growl sound? I know he uses a G&L ASAT bass and I"m pretty sure he uses Ampeg amps... but other than that I am stumped! Any ideas?

Thanks!!!!
    --kid

2. Wxp4759cb

Wxp4759cb

Nov 23, 2000
    Kansas City, MO
    Using 2 4 ohm cabs together will give you a load of 2 ohms, not 8.

3. StingrayKid21

Oct 7, 2001
    Portland, OR
    True, but the SVT-350 says that the speaker loading should be no less than four ohms. My SVT410HLF has a variable resistance so I can set it to 4 or 8 ohms, but most 1x15's are 8 ohms and I would need two 8 ohm cabs to stay at the 4 ohm minimum for the amp.

4. steve-o

steve-o Guest

Apr 17, 2002
    really you can change the impedance!!!
    how does this work?