amp terms

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by one_winged_angel, Sep 9, 2000.

1. one_winged_angel

Sep 9, 2000
    I am fairly new at the bass and I have no idea what all of these terms are (head, cab, combo, etc.). Could someone please tell me what this stuff is or where I can find info on these terms.
  2. Matthias

May 30, 2000
    Vienna, Austria
    That's a good source:
    Go to the rubric 'gear', there you will find:
    gear glossary
    bass amp basics
    bass cabinet 101
    (those pages seem to be encoded somehow, I can't copy the adresses)

BTW, you won't find the word 'cab': that's short for 'speaker cabinet'

3. Munjibunga

Munjibunga Total Hyper-Elite Member Gold Supporting Member

May 6, 2000
    San Diego (when not at Groom Lake)
    Independent Contractor to Bass San Diego
    Head - Usually refers to an amplifier system with no self-contained speaker. It usually has a pre-amp stage and power amp stage all in the same box. The pre-amp may be tube-driven or solid state (transistors). Most heads have a solid state power amp, but some have tube power amps. If it has a tube pre-amp and a solid state power amp, it's called a hybrid. The pre-amp stage is where the EQ is applied (treble, mid, bass tone controls) and other effects like compression. Sometimes, people use a separate pre-amp and power amp (two separate units). The pre-amp sends the EQ'd and effected signal to the power amp. Power amps can vary in output from about 15 watts to over 1,000 watts. Basses need more power than guitars to achieve usable volumes, and 300 watts is a good place to start for bass (this is my opinion). The power amp takes the signal and boosts it to a level strong enough to drive the speakers ... which brings us to cabs.