Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

amp types

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by martinjbull, Oct 25, 2004.

1. martinjbull

martinjbull

Oct 25, 2004
    I am new to bass playing but 30 years a guitarist-mainly acoustic but got into electric past few years. Now getting into bass-my main guitar amp is a Soldano Hot Rod 50 plus-question I have is whether I can use this head (with a bass cab of course) as a bass amp without damaging it-its a £2000 amp and I don't want to risk it-I just want to experiment-might sound pants but who knows? -I see John Entwistle and others used Marshall heads-what do people think?

2. IvanMike

IvanMike Player Characters fear me... Staff Member Supporting Member

Nov 10, 2002
    Middletown CT, USA
    for the most part tube guitar heads sound great with bass. a little aggressive, but cool. Just be sure to match the impedance setting on your amp with the impedance of the cabinets you use. You won't get super loud with 50 watts, but seeing as it's tube it should do ya ok for a good while. The bass signal itself shouldnt have any negative effect on your amp, (it's usually just guitar speakers that suffer). Ask soldano just to be sure but it should be fine. I've used a marshall 100 watt plexi before and it sounded wild. I want a soundclip of a soldano opened up with a bass!

3. BillyB_from_LZ

BillyB_from_LZ Supporting Member

Sep 7, 2000
    Chicago
    Like IvanMike wrote...make sure you match the impedance. And you'll need to use a very efficient bass cabinet!!!

4. DubDubs

DubDubs

Aug 23, 2004
    Los Angeles
    It should be fine. People use tube guitar heads as bass heads all the time. Just be sure to use a cab capable of low frequences (no guitar cabs). Some guitar heads are even advertized as usable for bass as well.

5. martinjbull

martinjbull

Oct 25, 2004