Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

amp wattage question--2X70 versus 150

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by analogfreak, Feb 23, 2006.

1. analogfreak

analogfreak

Jan 30, 2006
    Hi,

Newbie here. I couldn't find the answer to my question in the FAQ section, so apologies if this has been addressed before.

I tend to do low volume jazz gigs and use a small combo amp when there's no drummer (GK Backline 110, etc.), and a Carvin PB 150 head with somewhat heavy 2X10 cabinet when a drummer's involved.

My question: would two combo amps each having 70 watts and a 10" (the GK Backline 110) be about the same volume as a cabinet with 2X10 drawing 150 watts from a head (the Carvin stuff)? I realize that different 10" drivers have different characteristics, so let's assume for a moment all things (drivers) being equal.

I like the GK Backline 110 and am considering adding a second one. I would run the line out of one unit into the "mix input" (post-e.q. power amp in) of the second unit. Would the two 70-watt combo amps produce something like a hypothetical 140 watt head going into a 2X10 cab?

Thanks.
    Michael Yoder

2. Matthew Bryson

Matthew Bryson Guest

Jul 30, 2001

Well, I think that sounds about right... BUT - I'm no expert, so maybe just consider this a "bump" and hopefully someone more knowledgeable will chime in.

I'm just wondering if your GK combo can power an extension cab. I took a quick look at the GK site - but it wasn't clear as to whether the external speaker jack powers an extension cab as well as the internal speaker, or if the external speaker jack is only to be used when the internal speaker is disconnected. maybe somebody can shed some light on that for you as well.

3. analogfreak

analogfreak

Jan 30, 2006
    Thanks, Matthew.