Amp wattage

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by bassman2004, Jun 25, 2001.

1. bassman2004

Jun 22, 2001
    How much wattage should I get since I'm just starting out?
  2. A 15 watt practice amp is perfect for learning how to play. A perfect next (or first really) step is something like a 50w combo with a 12 or 75w 15... Something you can hear with a guitar.
  3. Eric Cioe

Eric Cioe

Jun 4, 2001
    Missoula, MT
    i think the best thing to start with is a 60 watt 12. i started with a PieceOf**** crate 30 watt 10. go for 12s. they sound much better with the low end
  4. rickbass

rickbass Supporting Member

As much wattage as you can get for what you can spend, as long as you're not compromsing the quality of the speaker.

Getting 60 - 100W means you probably won't be going out the week after you buy one to look for something that has the headroom to let you turn up the master volume past 12 o'clock without distorting.
  5. Gabu

Jan 2, 2001
    Woodland Hills, CA
    Don't be afraid to shell out a bit. You will have more fun playing if you aren't pissed at bad tone all the time.

One cool beginners amp would be a Fender Bassman 25. That has gotten great reviews and if it is anything like my old Fender Sidekick 30, I believe it!

Another one for a bit more would be the Carvin PB100-10. This is a cool amp, with some tonal range. Or it's big brother PB100-15 is just $20 more and you'll get more bottom end, as well as volume, but less portability.

The Peavey Basic 12 looks cool, and I have heard one good review of it.

Another thing I recommend is get a amp with a line out jack. It's cool to be able to record from a small practice amp.
  6. Old Blue

Old Blue

Mar 18, 2000