1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Ampeg 1X15 combo vs. Gk Neo 115-III and MB500

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by BJBBJB, Apr 22, 2017.

1. BJBBJB

BJBBJB

Apr 22, 2017
    I am a long-time electric guitarist and gearhead but don't know anything about bass gear except what I have learned from research material, a lot of it here.

Looking at a 1X15 cabinet and separate head. Some day a 1X15 or 4x10 may get added to it but for now, it will be played at gigs as a 1x15 so that is how I am looking at it. Some miked, some not.

I think we have narrowed it down to the ampeg PF-500 head and PF-115 HE cab or the GK Neo 115-III with the MB500. Looking at MB vs. RB purely from a weight standpoint as they seem close in performance. I know there are fans of both Ampeg and GK and there are tone nuances between the two, but my question is more general. It is for rock and would be used by an accomplished bassist.

Demoed the Ampeg and the general comment was it seemed like it did not cut through the electric and the rest of the mix. Can't demo the GK but could order with return privileges.

I know you can't always believe specs but does the GK really go down to lower freq, than the Ampeg? I understand harmonics matter a lot too but curious. Also will the GK rig play deeper and "bigger" than the Ampeg? That is the main question.

If going GK, is there a big difference between the CX and Neo cabinet other than the bi-amp which won't be used with the MB if I have that right? I don't care about the minor difference in weight or size. Want big sound.

With the CX, cost of the GK rig is about same as Ampeg. I would consider a used amp but I've never liked buying used cabinets.