Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Ampeg 8x10 classic vs. 4x10 & 1X18

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by SHIFTGREEN, Nov 11, 2002.

1. SHIFTGREEN

SHIFTGREEN

Nov 11, 2002
    NC
    Hi, I started playing in 2 bands, and right now Im using a friends Henry 8X8 at one place, and at the other place I'm using a Goliath lll 4X10, but I really want my own rig, and Mars is going out of buisness, so for christmas im telling my dad what to get so it will be the right thing, im considering the workingmans 8X10 (800 watts rms) or the Ampeg 8X10 SVT classic (800 watts rms) ..now im wandering, if a goliath lll 4X10(700 watts rms) and a big ben 1X18 (400watts rms) will have more of a punch and deeper sound, since so many people are talking about it... if anyone knows whats better, b/c im going for a nice deep and powerful sound that will be able to hand slapping the b-string or e-string with no distortion or anything.. im still new at understanding the differences between bass amps so forgive me if my use of words dont make much since.. any help will be awesome
    thanks, chris

2. SHIFTGREEN

SHIFTGREEN

Nov 11, 2002
    NC
  3. Fuzzbass

Fuzzbass P5 with overdrive Supporting Member

I personally would not hesitate to use an 8x10 for the application you describe. That said, a pair of cabs might be easier to move around (move up and down stairs, anyway), whether that pair consists of 4x10/1x18 or 4x10/4x10.

4. BruceWane

BruceWane

Oct 31, 2002
    Houston, TX