1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Ampeg B-15-N Bass amp Portaflex Serial #009172

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Lucille Borella, Apr 16, 2018.

1. Lucille Borella

Lucille Borella

Apr 16, 2018
    Newbie here. I have searched around but couldn't find anything. Is there a page here to find the date of our Ampeg B-15-N Bass amp - Portaflex, Serial#009172?

2. 40Hz

40Hz Supporting Member

Based on what I've heard, the six digit SN's in the earliest Ampegs were YMMnnn.

So for yours (009172) it would be 1960, 09 or September, number 172 off the assembly line if it were made before 1965 0 or it was made in 1965 if it was newer than that because Ampeg's 1965 amps were numbered 000001 to 020000.

A picture of the front of the amp and some additional info (like the type of speaker inside the cab) would help a bit here in dating things.

3. coreyfyfe

coreyfyfe Supporting Member

Nov 19, 2007
    boston, ma
    From the mid 50s to the mid 60s this system was used, but as you mentioned they started a new system in 1965-1970 that used 6 digits as well, so a 009xxx number could be a 1960 or it could be a 1965. My 1965 B15N is 004011. Pictures of the amp would help narrow it down for sure.

4. 40Hz

40Hz Supporting Member

Yep. 000001-02000 is a 1965 under the new scheme.

Either way, he’s got a B-15N - which is one of the most lusted after bass amps on the planet. So no matter what, it’s a big win for the OP.

Bugeyed Earl and ghostinthemach like this.
  5. JimmyM

JimmyM

Apr 11, 2005
    Apopka, FL
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps, EMG Pickups
    If it was a 60, the tolex would be navy random flair, and a 65 would have blue diamond.

ghostinthemach likes this.
  6. Lucille Borella

Lucille Borella

Apr 16, 2018