Ampeg BA115 vs SWR Workingmans 12

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by intillectualmin, Oct 18, 2002.

1. Ampeg BA 115

7 vote(s)
  2. SWR Workingmans 12

14 vote(s)
  1. intillectualmin

Sep 18, 2002
    sorry if it seems like ive asked this question before. But its gettin closer and closer to to the end of the year and thats when im gonna go get my new amp, so ive officially narrowed it down to these two. haha, so help me out guys.. thanx a lot.
  2. The Lowest

The Lowest

May 17, 2002
    New Jersey
    I've been using the SWR Workingman's 12 for a few years and I'm really happy with it. I haven't played the Ampeg you mention so I really can't compare, but I've found the the SWR to have a great sound and be highly portable.
  3. rok51

Sep 2, 2002
    Crawfordville, FL
    I've had a Workingman's 12 for 8 years now. Still very pleased with the tone, portability and features. Haven't tried the Ampeg.

4. intillectualmin

Sep 18, 2002
    thanx for the tips guys. I really love the tone comin from the SWR, but everybody is giving me differnet opinions, so im confused. Anyway, thanx for helpin me out
  5. I've owned both, and I thought the SWR was the best by far, but it's really about personal taste so play both then make a decision.
  6. mchildree

mchildree Supporting Member

Sep 4, 2000
    Just play both and pick the one YOU like best. Tips on reliability from long-term owners are helpful, though.

I've had both Ampeg and SWR gear and it's my opinion that Ampeg is kind of lacking in comparison in terms of power, weight and reliability. I've had a WM-12 for a while now and have used it for both an upright and electric amp...super little unit. It won a small combo shootout in BP magazine, also.
  7. intillectualmin

Sep 18, 2002