Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Ampeg Cabinets & heads

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Bass18, Jul 21, 2001.

1. Bass18

Bass18 Guest

Jul 21, 2001
    Australia
    Im in a punk band (think NoFX, Blink 182 type punk) and I'm in search of a new cab and amp to play some gigs and record a CD with. It has too last me for a few years at least until I upgrade again and will need to be suitable for small to mid size gigs. I was thinking an Ampeg 410HE as the cabinet and an Ampeg SVT-3 Pro for the head. Does anyone know how this combination would perform? And another thing I wanted to know, Is the 410HE the exact same as the 810E less 4 speakers? (In other words, is it the 410HE the same as the 810E just half as powerful?) or does it have some other different properties to the 810E?

I use an Ashton AB 100 bass.

I'm fairly new to bass, having played for a year, my last amp was a Peavey microbass combo (adequate for practices). Quite a large step up to buy a rig like this when I used to use the microbass, I know, but I need this new amp as our band is progressing into larger things.

2. EString

EString

Nov 20, 2000
    Los Altos, CA
    In a way, the SVT-410HE is like half of an SVT-810E. However, physically being half of the 8x10, doesn't mean it will sound or perform half as much.

The 4x10 has a little less in the way of bottom end. Yes, it is not as loud as an 8x10, but it is not half as loud; it will just not be able to reach the volume level of the 8x10 by a few decibels (though the meaning and value of decibels is a more complicated matter).

Also the 410HE is an 8 ohm cabinet as oppossed to a 4 ohm cab. The 810E, being 4 ohms, can take advantage of the full 450 watts of the SVT 3. The 410HE will only take 300W because the resistance is higher.