1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Ampeg PF-50T hum fix

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by KF2B, Oct 4, 2017.

1. KF2B

KF2B

Jan 28, 2013
    Finland
    Greetings

Bumped onto this article and found it interesting.

Ampeg PF-50T Humbuster

Any thoughts / experience?

2. coreyfyfe

coreyfyfe Supporting Member

Nov 19, 2007
    boston, ma
  3. bassicstu

bassicstu

Jun 27, 2007
    I'm having the same experience with my PF 50 T. I'm an electrical engineer. I'm planning on doing the modification. In my area of experience as an electrical engineer, whenever we have a noise issue we add a 0.01 micro farad (uf) capacitor between the positive and or negative voltage supplies and ground at every component. I don't know why it works but it does. I plan on putting a 0.01 uf cap across all the large caps when I do the mod. I don't have access to an oscilloscope or spectrum analyzer. If someone does and has done the mod, and for grins and giggles wants to do a before and after spectrum analyzer screen shot with and without the 0.01 caps I'd love to see if it makes a difference.

4. agedhorse

agedhorse Supporting Member Commercial User

Feb 12, 2006
    Davis, CA (USA)
    Development Engineer-Mesa, Product Support-Genz Benz
    If you don't know why it works, then perhaps it's not a good idea. In fact, it can be a bad idea as well as a good idea depending on the exact cause of the noise. A big part of engineering (speaking as an EE) is understanding what's happening in a circuit and how each component influences performance. If you don't understand the problem, how can you understand the solution?

In the case of the hum in the PF-50, adding .01uF will do absolutely nothing because that has nothing to do with the cause of the hum.

Redbrangus likes this.
  5. JimmyM

JimmyM Supporting Member

Apr 11, 2005
    Apopka, FL