Ampeg PF800 parallel only?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by amishrockstar, Jan 18, 2021.

1. amishrockstar

amishrockstar

Jul 21, 2020
    I’m new to cab-amp setups. Used large combos for years.

Can someone please clarify: So the PF800 says it’s to be used in “parallel.” That simply means I must have a cable directly from the amp for each of the 115 cabs, correct?

I cannot do “amp—>cab1–>cab2,” right?
    I have to do “amp—>cab1 and amp—>cab2” only?

Thanks!

2. beans-on-toast

beans-on-toast Supporting Member

Aug 7, 2008
    You can connect amp—>cab1–>cab2. It is called daisy chaining and perfectly alright to do. It is the same as amp—>cab1 and amp—>cab2.

Last edited: Jan 18, 2021
    Dubious Aa and BasturdBlaster like this.
  3. abarson

abarson

Nov 6, 2003
    Santa Cruz
    Either connection will work, as the connectors on the amp output and on the cabinets are wired in parallel.
    Keep in mind that speaker loads in parallel lower the overall load. You can use two 8 ohms cabinets with a resulting total load of 4 ohms, which is the minimum for your PF800. Don’t go lower.

spvmhc likes this.
  4. amishrockstar

amishrockstar

Jul 21, 2020
    Thanks for the responses!

It just sounded like it was parallel “only” from the PF800 instructions.

So parallel will be “louder” than daisy chaining, right?

Parallel will be 4 ohms at 800W (with two cabs), while daisy chaining (ie series) will be 8ohms at 400W, or is that wrong?

Thanks again!!

5. basscooker

basscooker Commercial User

Apr 11, 2010
    cincy ky
    Owner, ChopShopAmps
    Daisy chaining is parallel.
    It will be the same as one cable/cab per output connector. Output power will be the same as well. Daisy chain will still be 4 ohms with two 8 ohm cabs.

6. basscooker

basscooker Commercial User

Apr 11, 2010
    cincy ky
    Owner, ChopShopAmps