Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Ampeg SVP-CL : 4 tubes and their funtion?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by MuzikMan, Aug 29, 2005.

1. Does anybody know what part of the circuit each of the 4 tubes are in? I'm a total noob with tubes but I'm resarching the subject to get a better understanding of what to expect tonally if I changed tubes.

All I know right now is it has 2 12ax7 and 2 12au7 tubes. I would like to find out if I could concentrate on 1 tube for tone or do they all affect tone equally. For example, if I had one Telefunken and three JJ/teslas where would you put the Telefunken?

I would also like to hear your experience with tubes in this preamp. I hope someone can help :D

2. you could always think of it more as :

One 12AX7
    One 12AU7
    One 12DW7

because with one of the 12ax7's and 12au7's your only using half of each tube, which is the equivilant of the 12DW7 IIRC

i may be wrong, but it seems the first one in the circuit usually colours the sound most, so that'd be the one nearest the side with the inputs, i think

3. Ok that's how they are emulating the classic SVT with the 12dw7's right? I wonder if I can dig up an old SVT schematic and apply it to my preamp (as far as the tubes go).

Where's Ampeg insider (Jerrold) when you need him?

4. Jerrold Tiers

Jerrold Tiers

Nov 14, 2003
    St Louis
    Right here, noting that the answer was pretty much given.....

Yes, the 12AU7 and 12AX7 are used for the appropriate halves of the original 12DW7 tube.

Much better than using the 12AX7 for everything, since all the original values can be used....leading to performance as per original.

5. Do you have any info on the specific placement of each tube in the circuit?

6. tadawson

tadawson

Aug 24, 2005
    Lewisville, TX