1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Ampeg SVT 2 Pro Valves

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Slamms, Sep 11, 2019.

1. Slamms

Slamms

Sep 11, 2019
    Hamilton Scotland
    I have an Ampeg SVT 2 Pro. I bought it in February 2018. The Output valves were changed in 2013 when 6 Winged C's were installed, I have the engineers receipt for this. Since the install the Amp has not had much use before I bought it and ive gigged it maybe 13 times since. I have no knowledge on when the other valves were replaced or what they are. The amp was serviced in March this year at a reputable service centre. The amp sounds great through my Ampeg 410HLF but would appreciate some guidance.

Can anybody help on:

1. How long I can should expect the valves to last? Am I already skating on thin ice?

2. What other valves are recomended for the pre amp and how many are there.

3. Recomended replacements for both.

I play a Fender 57 re-issue precision with a quarter pounder and a Fender Mexican Jazz Bass with stock pickups. I play in a punk rock and roll band.

Thanks for any help in advance.
    Slamms

2. Wasnex

Wasnex

Dec 25, 2011
    It's not really possible to say how long your tubes will last. It depends upon how frequently you play and how hard you push the amp. If you play infrequently at the low volume, the tubes could last for 20 years. Or the the amp could have a random failure at any time.