1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Ampeg svt-3pro vs. ampeg svt-450

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by ErebusBass, Feb 20, 2008.

1. ErebusBass

ErebusBass

Feb 20, 2008
    Madison, WI
    Well my cheap old head finally died, and i need a new one. I've pretty much narrowed it down to a couple of possibilities (all ampeg) and i need some opinions. I am particularly interested in anyone who owns an svt-450, because i can't find one at any of the local music stores. I went and tried out an svt-3 pro and loved the tone, but i am a full time college student and am very poor, so the $900 price tag was kind of a let down. If anyone has experience with solid-state ampeg heads, particularly the B2re (because it's cheap) i would love to hear some opinions, otherwise i'll just bite the bullet and get tubes. I play black metal, i need something that can give me lots of low end with very crisp punchy highs. If anyone has any other suggestions preferably in the $500-800 range i'd be open to suggestions. Thank you for your help.

2. RickenBoogie

RickenBoogie

Jul 22, 2007
    Dallas, TX
    Try looking for a used head. I can tell you from expirience, the SS Ampeg heads are a real let down, compared to any of their hybrid heads. And, it seems like for what you're after, and on your budget, the all tube heads are right out. You could probably find a used 4 Pro in your budget, and that would get you right where you want to be. Good luck in your search.

3. Eminor3rd

Eminor3rd BLAAAAARRGGHH!!

Feb 10, 2008
    NYC
    I used a B2R for a couple years. It's a pretty solid head for its price range, but the 3PRO is definitely better. If you get a B2Re, you'll just wish you spent the same money getting a 3PRO on eBay.

4. ErebusBass

ErebusBass

Feb 20, 2008
    Madison, WI