1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Ampeg SVT-410HE Bass Cabinet (500 Watts, 4x10") 8 OHMS

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by ram flowers, Jun 1, 2018.

1. ram flowers

ram flowers

May 31, 2018
    Shelton, Wa
    Again I am new to all this and trying to learn. If I buy the above mentioned cabinet and connect it to a GK BACKLINE 300 watt AMP Head rated at 300 watts at 4 ohms will I get at least 250 watts out of the cabinet or will I get only 180 watts.

2. You'll get whatever the GK puts out at 8ohms.

3. ram flowers

ram flowers

May 31, 2018
    Shelton, Wa
    Thanks for the reply but, the math confuses me. If I get what you are saying I will only get about half of the wattage that the GK 300 watt head puts out around I.E. 150. Am I correct

4. It'll be closer to 150 than 250. I don't know the exact figure. One of my amps is 450w at 4ohms and 250 at 8ohms if that's any indication.

5. okcrum

okcrum in your chest

Oct 5, 2009
    Verde Valley, AZ
    RIP Dark Horse strings
    It sounds like you actually have a Backline 600, which is rated at 300 watts @4 ohms. You'll get about 1/2 that power @8 ohms.

I'm not sure the math is that hard. You get roughly the same peak voltage from the amp just before clipping with either load.

Since P = E^2 / R, doubling the R (ohms) will halve the P (power) if E (voltage) stays the same. The reason you will get a little more than 1/2 power at 8 ohms is that the power supply doesn't sag as much with the 8 ohm load.

DeliriumTremens likes this.