Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Ampeg SVT-CL and SVT 4-Pro advice needed: reliability?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by redshifter, Sep 18, 2005.

1. redshifter

redshifter

Sep 18, 2005
    San Francisco
    Hello all,

I'm pretty new to the Ampeg world and I'm in serious need of guidance. This is going to be a long post, apologies in advance.

First off, about me: I play in a very active, touring indie rock band. We play charging, loud music in the vein of Jimmy Eat World, Foo Fighters, etc. My cabinet is the typical Ampeg 810E. I play a passive US Fender P-Bass and my dream tone is the classic, meaty SVT tone that we all know.

To that end, 3 or 4 months ago I purchased a used SVT-CL. I'm not sure of its age, but I believe it's the version just before the current all-black crop. Mine is black with a blue "classic" logo on the front - early 90s maybe? Anyway, not long after I bought it, it died on me mid-rehearsal, losing about 99% of its volume and making a pained crackling sound. I took it to our amp repair guy, and he fixed it, saying that the vibrations had shaken some connection loose and that otherwise the amp was healthy. I was encouraged.

Then, the other night at a gig, I set up my rig, plugged in -- and nothing. Not a peep. I was very flustered, obviously. The bassist from one of our 'sister' bands was there checking us out, and when he saw my problems, he immediately started blaming the SVT-CL, saying how fragile they are and that they're not really reliable enough to count on. Having little experience with them (I had always had a GK 800RB), I don't know what to believe.