AMPEG SVT CL questions...

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by iceblinko, Aug 8, 2005.

1. iceblinko

Jul 15, 2003
    hey all. i have two questions regarding this amp.
    1: i have the eq settings set just the way i like, but i'm not sure about the gain and master volume. i'm always messing around with them, and don't know where they should be in relevance to each other. any suggestions?
    2: my amp gets REALLY hot when playing. we practice in a room with no a.c., so maybe that has something to do with it. this is my first time with a tube amp, so i'm not really used to this. also.. twice while after a long practice session, i put it on standby to let it cool off before shutting it down.. however, it shut down on it's own! i don't know if that means it overheated or something. i'm confused.

anyway.. help in either of these departments would be greatly appreciated! thanks all..
  2. 2. thats probably the protection kicking in, these things run hot, i know mine does, i dont put it into standby because standby does not make it "Cool off" at all, standby is used to heat the tubes, so a clean shut off (just go straight to off from being on) is better, as it means the filter caps last longer

1. its all in the ear of the beholder, if you have highish gain pre tubes, then turning the gain all the way up then attenuating the master volume will give you a gritter sound id think, dont have a gain control on my SVT tho, so im not sure
  3. el_Kabong

Jul 11, 2005
    Well it does depend what you like hear. I always run mine with the master on 10 and gain to suit. Just sounds cleaner, punchier and plain better to me that way.
  4. Jerrold Tiers

Jerrold Tiers

Nov 14, 2003
    St Louis
    Tubes get hot..... did I mention that tubes get hot?