Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Ampeg SVT CL thru Ampeg 410 HLF?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by greendayjustin, Jul 26, 2004.

1. Would I be sending too much power to an Ampeg 410 HLF if I were to run my SVT classic thru it?

Thanks, Justin

2. TheChariot

TheChariot

Jul 6, 2004
    Boston, MA
    I'm far from an expert on tubes... but I know my Ampeg stuff, and I think the RMS on the SVT410 is 400.

Based on what most people have said about tube power.... the 410 would survive, but could easily be blown away if you overdid it. I think you'll get by, as long as your smart about it. I'd add another cab in the future though, or upgrade to a larger cab now, if you felt like it. 610 or 810 maybe.... if you wanted to stick with Ampeg.

3. metron

metron Fluffy does not agree

Sep 12, 2003
    Lakewood Colorado
    You could but most of the time the answer is no. If you are getting close to blowing the cab you will know it. Your ears will tell you...

I had the same combination and one time I was worried about the garage I was playing in coming apart before I thought the drivers would die. :D

4. Subculture13

Subculture13 Jamming Econo

Apr 9, 2003
    Toronto, Ont. Canada
    I did this once. I knew it was too much power for the cab, but didnt really have a choice. I had it run a little louder than I would have otherwise liked, I needed the volume for the gig. Not 5 minutes into it I blew a driver out and had to finish the song with a farting noise coming out of one of my 10's. I was forced to get an extra monitor and use a second monitor from the monitor mix as my bass amp.

5. What did you have the volume at?

6. Subculture13

Subculture13 Jamming Econo

Apr 9, 2003
    Toronto, Ont. Canada